• Professor Gerd-Rüdiger Burmester

    Medicine Director of the department of Rheumatology

  • Gerd R. Burmester is Professor of Medicine and Director of the Department of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology at the Charité University Hospital, Free University and Humboldt University in Berlin, Germany. He earned his MD degree from Hannover Medical School (Hannover, Germany) and completed a residency at the Medical School of the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg (Erlangen, Germany). Professor Burmester was awarded a postdoctoral fellowship at The Rockefeller University, and was a visiting scholar at the Hospital for Joint Diseases, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, both in New York City, NY, USA.

    Professor Burmester’s research interests include rheumatoid arthritis, Lyme borreliosis, immunotherapy, cellular activation mechanisms in inflammatory joint diseases, and tissue engineering.

    Professor Burmester has published more than 800 original and review articles in peer-reviewed journals such as Lancet, The New England Journal of Medicine, Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases, and Arthritis and Rheumatology. He serves on several editorial boards, including the Journal of Rheumatology and Clinical Rheumatology, and is Associate Editor of Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases, the official journal of the European League against Rheumatism (EULAR). Professor Burmester served as President of the German Society of Rheumatology from 2001 to 2002. He has held numerous positions in the EULAR organization: Member of the Executive Committee of EULAR (2003–2006), acting as Chairman of the Standing Committee on Investigative Rheumatology; honorary member of EULAR (2006); Treasurer (2011–2013); President-Elect (2013); President (2015–2017); and Immediate Past President until 2019. Since 2017, he has been President of the Board of Trustees of FOREUM, the Foundation for Research in Rheumatology. In 2019, he became Master of the American College of Rheumatology. Professor Burmester is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Jan van Breemen Medal of the Dutch Society of Rheumatology and the Carol-Nachman Prize for Rheumatology.